What is the ACSF? 2018-06-07T08:59:51+00:00

Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) Explained

The 2006 international Adult Literacy and Life Skills Survey (ALLS) found that approximately 40 per cent of employed and 60 per cent of unemployed Australians had poor English language, literacy and numeracy (LLN) skills. Level 3 is regarded as the “minimum required for individuals to meet the complex demands of everyday life and work in the emerging knowledge-based economy” (p.5, Australian Bureau of Statistics 4228.0 – Adult Literacy and Life Skills Survey, Summary Results, Australia, 2006).

The Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) is the common national reference point for assessing performance in the core skill areas; language, literacy and numeracy (LLN) from Pre Level 1 to Level 5. The framework is primarily used by LLN specialists for reporting on core skill levels of a learner. However, the ACSF can also be used in other contexts, such as in the workplace and in training specifications to accurately and consistently describe core skill requirements.

The Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) describes levels of performance in the five core skills of:

  • Learning

  • Reading

  • Writing

  • Oral Communication

  • Numeracy

To find out more about the ACSF, please visit: https://www.education.gov.au/australian-core-skills-framework